I’m Back!

Posted: December 24, 2015 by Roberts in General Post, Uncategorized
Tags:

I’m back!

It’s been some time since I’ve posted.  Like with all things in life, life got in the way.  During my original journey to lose weight, this blog kept me honest with myself.  It provided a way for me to log and catalog my journey from a non-runner to a guy who pretends to be a runner.  Over the course of 2015, I’ve gained quite a bit of the weight back that I had initially lost.  This past week has been a week of soul searching and self-reflection to figure out why, and how to reverse this trend and get back on the path to success.  
 
To put it in perspective, when I started this journey I was over 330 lbs.  At my best I was down to 235 lbs. in March of 2013 – almost a full 100 lbs.  I was happy with my success and tried to maintain it. However, my lack of true maintenance allowed my weight to creep back up to 255 lbs. at the beginning of this year. Now here we are in December and I’m back up to 288.5 lbs.  At this point a normal person might think, maybe he gave up running.  Maybe he ate pure garbage ever since that low.  So let’s take a look at 2015.
 
Though I started the year injured, I managed to finish 31 races including four full marathons, 12 half marathons four 10ks, six 5ks, and five other miscellaneous distances.  I raced in 18 cities and 2 countries this year.  So my weight gain was not from a lack of training and exercise.  What was it then?  Over the next few weeks while I train for the next marathon, I will explore what happened, what I learned, and what I’m doing to fix things going forward. 

My initial plan for 2016 has a couple simple parts.

  • Count Calories
  • Train for a marathon
  • Drink two liters of water a day
  • A weekly increasing minimum step goal
  • Have mini challenges with other people

Over the course of the next year, I’ll explore the lessons and experiences of 2015, and those of 2016.

What have you done to regain your focus?

 

Leave a Reply

