Boogie Man and the Yorkie

Posted: March 31, 2012 by Roberts in Running Log
Tags: , , , ,

This was my first week of consciously using the treadmill less.  I now have a treadmill guideline.  If the program calls for 4 miles, I will use the treadmill on interval training.  If it is any other mileage, I am outdoors.  The first outdoor run of the week was a small 5 miles on Thursday. OK, the actual first run of the week outdoors was to be 2 miles on Wednesday.  I skipped it since, yet again, I was too tired that night.

The Watchmen Soundtrack

I recently picked up a copy of the Watchmen Soundtrack.  Albums should be listened in their entirety and in the correct order.  Or rather, a well-produced album should be enjoyed in its entirety.  I can’t seem to find too many of them these days.  This brings me to the run.  The run time for the soundtrack is 53 minutes.  Given my pace, that is about a 5 mile run.  Serendipity!  I had my theme music for the run.

Just past the first mile and a half the song “I’m Your Boogie Man” by K.C. and the Sunshine Band came on.  It’s such a fun song.  My pace quickened without even trying.  How much?  I went from a 10’10” pace to a 7’49” pace.  Not only did my pace quicken, I had a hop in my step.  I avoided the cars sticking out of the driveways by hopping into the street, and springing back onto the sidewalk.

What a Yorkie dive bomber may look like...

The only occurrence out of the norm was a small dog.  His little legs beat away trying to close the ground between us.  His high pitched yapping cut through my music.  Once he caught up with me, he circled wide to make another pass.  The little brown yorkie kept at it for the rest of the block.  Once I was out of his territory, he returned home triumphant.

As I mentioned, I missed my 2 mile early in the week.  Now it was time to pay myself back.  Late Friday night I decided it was time.  I hit the road, and pushed for a decent pace.  With the race coming up on Sunday I wanted to gauge my potential time.  I turned up the Tron: The Legacy Soundtrack and hit the road.  The first mile was a decent pace, but I knew I could do better and push harder.  So I did.  I shaved a minute off my pace for the last mile.  The final average pace was not quite a potential PR time for the 5k coming up, but you never know what will happen on race day.

What a hear attack in a tortilla looks like...

Here I am on the night before the race.  My wife and I decided to each enjoy a burrito from Chipotle.  I have not allowed myself such a lavish caloric food in some time.  If you don’t know what Chipotle is, well consider yourself lucky and unlucky.  Before I cared about my health I truly enjoyed them.  Each bite was a blend of fake Mexican flavors, meat and cheese.  Some combinations could reach as high as 1500 calories.  Each meal was a heart attack in a tortilla with a side of guacamole.  My friends and I referred to the inevitable tiredness that followed as a Burrito Coma.  You could not move, only digest.  So why get one now?  My excuse?  I am carb-loading.  Of course not really, but it works for me today.  It was really a splurge.  If I get a PR tomorrow, I won’t feel bad about eating it.  If I fail miserably in getting a new record, it was the extra weight of the burrito, so much weight.  I have all my bases covered!

Time for some sleep, and get ready for the race.

Remember to like the page on Facebook.

Questions:

What music do you enjoy during your runs?

Comments
  1. You made me laugh about the burrito! I’m forever on at my hubbie for craving kebabs, which are similarly heart attack material – he also stinks to high heaven after eating one!

    On the TM – consider running with it at 1% incline, that’s meant to simulate on road running. Mine doesn’t have that option; it’s either level or at about 5%. Running a 5k uphill is no mean feat!

    Your music choices interested me, as someone who has a running music fixation! I tend to choose songs that fit my pace. It’s usually Queen that lighten my legs. In my search I’ve found that a lot of The Police’s songs fit the bill and I only have their music on vinyl. Guess that’s an excuse to hit iTunes!

    • Roberts says:

      Well it is time for the race and see if that burrito is going to hurt me. I woke up without feeling hungry for one. On the treadmill I normal do 2% if the program has 0%. A lot of the programs will fluctuate the incline during the session. One of the programs is incline training where it will go as high 10-12%. I like to call that setting the widow maker. A 5% 5k is tough!

      I will check out some Queen and The Police. It has been awhile since I dusted those off. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

