One Week Down….again…

Posted: March 21, 2012 by Roberts in Race Information, Races, Running Log, Treadmill
Tags: , , , , ,

I have completed my first week of marathon training. How many times have I said that? Three to be precise.  Or rather, this is my third attempt. Third time’s the charm right? It seems injury always finds me during a marathon training schedule. The first injury was a busted rib, and the second an ankle.  Well, the past is behind me and nothing but the road is ahead.

Maybe I should trick myself. I am not training for a marathon. I am training for two half marathons back to back with no break. It would be very sad if I could trick myself that way.

During this week I had scheduled three treadmill sessions (interval training) and an outdoor run of eight miles. Not only did I accomplish that, I added an extra treadmill session. I just had to see one more episode of Game of Thrones. We all need our little inspirations.

My pace on the outdoor run was less than spectacular. No excuses, I will take the fact that I got out there as a mild success and do better next time. That just sounds pathetic.  I got out there, I got it done.  On a Sunday night there isn’t much to see on the road.

I had two encounters on my run.  The first was a squad car. She paced me down a dark road, and turned away when I returned to the lite section of the neighborhood. I don’t know if she was bored, or wanted to provide me some extra light for my evening run. It was that, or she thought I was cute, or maybe worried that I might get mugged.  The other interesting sight was a young couple I passed on three occasions.  By the third time they finally acknowledged me.  It doesn’t matter.  They were too busy walking down the street, each keeping a hand warm in the others back pocket.  Strange events are the norm for my runs; every now and then I need an uneventful one.

I have decided to sponsor, or rather trick, my office into a 5k race on April 1st. I convinced three other people to join me.  We are attending the Chester Community Physical Therapy Clinic “Run like a Fool” 5k.  It is a small race, but I have the bug and I need to get out there again.

Remember to like my page on Facebook.

Finally, I have two questions for you:

What is the craziest thing you have seen while running?

What do you do to entertain yourself on the treadmill?

Comments
  1. Sting rays. They were in the water just off a bridge. Or a GIANT, very scary looking spider just sort of dangling off a tree limb right in line with my head. Luckily, I looked up before running directly into it. I rarely run on a treadmill. When I do, I normally just accept the fact that it’s going to be boring and try to keep the runs short and sweet.

  2. THAT is no fun! A broken rib? Running?! Ouch! I don’t know that I ever see anything too crazy. One summer there was a guy who we would see on the trail dressed in this wrestling unitard thing. Very scary and a little too revealing. I see a lot of deer. Today I saw swarms of squirrels. And the cutest ducks who were swimming in a rain puddle.

    To entertain myself on the treadmill, I play a game where I pick a starting speed (like 6.0) and then every 1/10 of a mile, I bump it up .1 and keep going until I feel like I’m sprinting. Then I back it down to the start and go all over again.

    Hope you are able to run the marathon. I totally know what that’s like!

    • Roberts says:

      A guy in a wrestling unitard? That is creepy. I love the idea of the speed training on the treadmill. I might just try that out tomorrow. I will include how it goes in my next post. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

