Coming Full Circle With My Workouts

Posted: December 13, 2011 by Roberts in Workouts
Tags: , , , , ,

If you have been following along, you know I am benched from running with a sprained ankle.  I can’t afford to get too lazy while I recuperate.  I have come too far to let it melt away.  The elliptical is now my litmus test of recovery.  If I get to a day after an elliptical session when my foot fails to remind me that it is sprained, then I can return to the road.  How I have missed you, cold and lonely road.  Going forward, I will use the elliptical every other day.  Today was no different. 

Looking back on my journey, the elliptical was the beginning, and now, injured, I return to it.  It seems my workouts have come full circle.  After logging over five hundred miles on the road, elliptical workouts represented constraint and boredom.  It was nowhere near as exhilarating as the cold bite of the open road.  Until my last injury, I had not touched it in a year.  Only a few weeks ago, my wife even asked if we could sell it.  I promised I would find a way to add it back into my routine.  It only took a face plant into pavement to keep that promise.  Now it offers freedom from the boredom of recovery.  It doesn’t stress my sprained ankle’s mobility since it is only a third of my stride. 

I try to keep myself entertained on the machine, but it is difficult.  I have rigged up a portable DVD player to the display.  I tend to watch TV shows since they last about 45 minutes.  It is about the right amount of time.  The show this time was Battlestar Gallactica.  I’ve seen it enough times already, though.  Are suggestions on other shows, I am open to anything? 

Looking around the room I could see the evolution of my routines.  The basement is filled with the story. First the elliptical, next on to the treadmill, and finally just my running shoes.  The least expensive and complicated is the best.  Maybe I should get an exercise bike?  How much exercise equipment do I need before my basement becomes a gym?  There isn’t space for one anyway….unless I move…NO…when would I have time to add another routine?

In addition to using the elliptical, I have decided to accept the Peacewolf Pushup Challenge.  If you follow us on Facebook, you may have seen the post about it.  The concept is to do a set of pushups and go until you can’t go anymore, and do this for thirty days.  The question is, how many more can you do on Day 1 verse Day 30?  Day 1 I started at 25.  It isn’t that impressive, but it is a start.  I don’t have a set goal of where to end up, just every day improve and see where it takes me.  By Day 30, I should be back on the road. 

Here’s to not having pain in my ankle tomorrow!

Comments
  1. Carly says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your ankle, and hope that tomorrow is pain free. I think I will start the pushup challenge as well, I definitely need more upper body strength.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog too 🙂

    • Roberts says:

      Thanks for the comment. The ankle is still giving me trouble, and it won’t be safe to run on for at least another week. The pushup challenge has been good, I have doubled my pushups in only eight days. You should go for it!

Leave a Reply

