A Tragedy of a Run and My Pal Al.

Posted: November 28, 2011 by Roberts in Injuries, Running Log
Tags: , , ,

Distance: 9.72 Miles
Pace: 10’39” .

This was an exciting run, to say the least. It started late, but not too late.  My plan was to run eleven miles. As you can see from the statistics above, that didn’t happen. The entire run felt great, right up until the end.  No question about it, cars with high beams were not my friends on this night.  This time it was personal.

OK, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic, but it did end my run for the night.

My pace was uniform, decent for a long run, and other than the occasional car turning on their high beams, it was a good run. With the winter setting in, night has been coming earlier and earlier, and it always surprises me just how early it is getting dark.  I watched night fall about one-third of the way through my “afternoon” run.

On the last stretch home, the road is without street lights or sidewalks.  This is the part of my run that has always worried me the most.  The only saving grace is it is only one and three-quarter miles, straight away.  Normally this is a quiet road, with very little traffic.  However, this time my biggest fear about nighttime running came true.

I could see a car approaching me for quite a while before he reached me.  He should have been able to see me too, and apparently he did, because he turned on his high beams.  This, of course, turned off my night vision.  I stepped into the underbrush to allow him to pass.  When I returned to the road, I stepped right into a pothole that I could no longer see, twisted my ankle, and fell on the ground.  Using my right hand, I narrowly avoided taking a face plant into the concrete.  I was crouched down, unable to move, on a dark road.  To make matters worse, another car was quickly approaching from the same direction as the previous one had.  I don’t think he saw me, since I was so low to the ground.  I crawled off the road slowly, and the car passed by.

Finally, luck was with me.  Shortly after my fall, a car pulled up from behind to see if I was ok.  He had seen me fall and wanted to know if I needed a ride.  His name was Al, and he was heading out to get some Chinese food.  He saved me from the long hobble home by driving me the last mile and a half.  I don’t know if I would have made it otherwise.

When I got home, I realized I had lost one of the water bottles that fits into my hydration belt, as well as my $70 heart monitor.  Talk about adding insult to injury – literally!  At the end of the day, I am thankful that a stranger name Al stopped by and picked me up.  I don’t know what makes me angrier – losing my heart monitor, or not completing my run.

Update: On Monday morning I drove by the spot where I tripped and found both the bottle and heart monitor.

Next Run: 7 Miles (Tuesday)
Next Workout: P90X (Disc 09 & Disc 12) (Wednesday)
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Suggestions? rebuildingroberts@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

