Knees of Fire!

Posted: November 20, 2011 by Roberts in Running Log
Tags: , , , , ,
Distance: 7.07 Miles
Pace:
 10’49”

Now the winter running has begun.  The temperature has dropped below thirty-five degrees.  The jacket has been tested, the podcast is loaded, and the watch is charged, it is time for a run.  What more can you want?  Sleep.  The week had been long and exhausting.  My muscles were cold, and no matter what stretches I did, they would not warm up.  Something was not right for the day, and for my body.

The watch synchronized with the satellites at an amazing speed.  The wind whipping at my face left it cold and frigid.  I watched the sunset’s last rays peek through the trees and it was now time to run.  This is a “Rest Week,” and the level of difficulty is harder than the first week.  Why even call it a rest week?  It should be called, “Slightly less hard week.”  Or it could be called, “Humiliation week, humiliating since we tell you it is a rest week and make you feel pathetic for hurting during it.”  I guess those titles are all too long.  The title of “Rest Week” will suffice, and only make you feel bad when you discover the truth of it.  My body has not had time to recover at all.  I have caught myself asking, “How can a muscle be sore when I didn’t even know it existed?” or “How can I be sore there?”  I need to keep pushing, forget the pain…It is just taking so long.  When will the time come that a ten-mile run is nothing?  Not soon enough.  Some days you just want to hit fast forward.

About two miles in, my foot falls got sloppy.  I started having too many heel strikes, the bounce was out of my step, and I wasn’t getting warm enough to fight off the cold.  By mile three, my knees were on fire.  It was a pain I had not felt since my early days.  The run was only seven miles,  and the last four were a trial.  They tested my will to finished this experiment in health.  During the last part of the run, my thoughts centered on questioning every step I took.  Eventually I could no longer hear the podcast, only my doubts.  Finally, I made it home.  The pace was terrible.  The run was terrible.

I have had too many of these runs in a row now.  I have a ten-mile run planned for Sunday.  I am dreading it.  Why?  I have done them before.  Let’s hope the Kenpo tomorrow doesn’t make me too sore.

My first race is on December 3rd.  It is coming up in just a couple of weeks.  Meanwhile, Thanksgiving, the Day of Gluttony, sits smack dab between them.  Why do I do this to myself?  Enough of that kind of talk.  I have come so far from where I started. 

Next Run: 10 Miles (Sunday)
Next Workout:  P90X (Disc 06) (Saturday)
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Suggestions? rebuildingroberts@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

