Running on the Grid

Posted: October 28, 2011 by Roberts in P90X, Running Log, Workouts
Tags: , , , ,

Distance: 2.02 Miles
Pace: 9’55”
P90X: 
Core Synergistics (Disc 08)

Last night when I got back from a late night at work, I could not get myself to hit the pavement. At the start of my commute home, geared up for a five-mile, I could not get home fast enough. By the end I was having trouble to staying awake. Getting home I knew if I went upstairs to get changed in my running gear, I wasn’t going to make it back downstairs.

So that means today must be a combination of a run and P90X. The entire day I had mixed thoughts. I was still sore from Wednesday. An hour run plus P90X just seemed insurmountable. I still don’t know how I did it.  The run, though the pace was slower then my most recent runs, was great.  I decided to listen to music, not a podcast.  This is unusual for any run over three miles.  The selection for the evening, Daft Punk – Tron Legacy Soundtrack (added to the Music/Podcast page).  After the initial track, The Grid, there are no words.  Only the road, music, and my thoughts.  I felt my heart beating with the rhythm of the music since I could not focus words or a conversation.  The song C.L.U. came on, and my pace quickened.  I took an effort to ensure I didn’t go too fast and lose my steam.  After the second mile, the soreness of the abs washed away; there was only the rhythm of my feet.

After getting back I popped in the Core synergistic program.  I put in the time and pushed myself to the fullest range my body could do.  By the end my muscles were shaking and I was exhausted.  P90X is not for the faint of heart.  Earlier this year I completed EA Sports Active 2 on the Playstation and the hardest settings, and it has nothing on P90X, nothing.  I can see why doing these routines for 90 days you get fit.  I have no doubt about it.  So I plan to keep this modified schedule of running, strength and core training.  After the twelve weeks are over, I hope not to recognize myself.

On another note, yesterday I got my haircut. A fact not normally worth noting in a post except they found a couple of white hairs. I can no longer claim them to be really blond hairs.  Forsaken by my hair, and I no longer one of the immortal youth.  Who is next to betray me?  So here I am, time is catching up and I still don’t know what I am running from or to. It is something. If you don’t know you destination, nor where you started, does that make you lost?  I am starting to find my health, just not what I am searching for.  Does each step take me further away, or closer to the answer of a question I don’t even know?

Next Run: 8 Miles
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Leave a Reply

