The Lonely Cold Road

Posted: October 26, 2011 by Roberts in P90X, Running Log
Tags: , ,

Distance: 5.01 Miles
Pace: 9’47”

The first run of the next twelve weeks is complete.  My legs felt exhausted the entire run.  I could have sworn my pace would be just south of 11’00.”  As you can see from the top of the post, I destroyed that pace.  As I get stronger, my pace does as well.  I hit the pavement late, just after ten.  The nice thing about a faster pace, you get done faster.  During the run I kept wondering if my twelve week plan is over extending my ability.  There is only one way to find out.  P90x looks intimidating; I guess that is the point.

The road was empty.  No one was out there on this lonely Tuesday.  This was the first night of the season that I decided to wear my cold weather running pants, and I think it needs to be a few degrees colder before I wear them again.  Note to self, 50 degrees is just a little too warm for running pants.  I am ready for the winter.  I have never had a true winter run.

I found an 8k coming up in November.  I am tempted to do it.  It will come up before my original first race, the Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K.  The 5k doesn’t have to be my first, it is just seems right that my first is a 5k.  A fellow runner is going to decide by the end of the week if they are going to do this run.  If they do, so will I.  I know I’m nuts, but then again, that is actually less then the run of 10 miles that I’ve already scheduled for that day.

Next Run: 2 Miles & P90X (Disc 01 & 12)
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Comments
  1. Chris Olsen says:

    Great Job Chris! 9’47” that is awesome. You are right where I want to be. Keep listening to your body, it will tell you what it needs. Keep up the good work.

    • Roberts says:

      Whenever I see the pace below 10’00” it is hard to believe. Now that it has happened a couple times in a row, I will have to set my sights to be below 9’30”

Leave a Reply

