The Half Marathon Distance is Done!

Posted: October 23, 2011 by Roberts in P90X, Running Log
Tags: , , ,

Distance: 13.11 Miles
Pace:
10’08”

And so it is done.  I completed over 13.1 miles.  It is an amazing feeling.  This has been the longest run of my running career.  The best part was not just completing  the run, it was when I looked down at the watch and noticed the pace and time.  I thought my run was going to come in around 145 minutes, and I came in under 133 minutes.

Going into the run, I was worried if I could complete it.  It had been 2 weeks since the last time I did over ten miles, let alone thirteen.  These past two weeks I have questioned the training.  My weight was not going down since I wasn’t burning the extra calories.  Now my pace kept improving; that was it.  My first couple steps were shaky.  My waist has trimmed so much, the hydration belt is slightly too big.  It bounced on my hips a little too much.  One of the bottles bounced out three times in the first half mile.  It happened twice more during the first half of the run and one just before the last mile and half stretch.  I was worried my pace would suffer and every time I stopped I feared I might not be able to pick the run back up.  Of course that didn’t happen.  I finished well in spite of the mishaps and the reduction of mileage leading into the run.  Trust your training schedule.

So where are we now?  A twelve week training session is over.  Do I train for a 5k, 10k, half, or bump it up to a full marathon?  After putting some thought to it, I have decided to retrain for the half again.  This time, however, I am increasing the difficulty.  After reviewing the plan of action, I can definitely say that it is tougher.  There are more runs per week, and longer runs.  There is even a fourteen miler in there.  Tonight I should have the next twelve weeks plotted out with P90X incorporated.  I hope I am not taking on more than what is possible.  Of course I won’t know if I don’t try.  I have already stopped by the store picked up my resistance bands and yoga block.  Me, with a yoga block!

So here we go, time to step it up and push beyond what I thought was possible.

Next Run: 5 Miles
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Leave a Reply

