Its getting cold out there.

Posted: October 20, 2011 by Roberts in P90X, Running Log
Tags: , , ,

Distance:  4.04 Miles
Pace: 10’07”

Another short run down.  I am only one short run from the final half marathon.  I find shorts have some good points and some bad.  First, I enjoy the fact I can post some good times, and push myself without fear of burning out.  What I don’t like is the reduced calorie burn and miles.  And on a non-exercise related reason, I find very little to talk about on the blog since I am out on the road for a limited amount of time.

These evening runs are starting to get to me.  Mind you, I enjoy a nice cool run, so it isn’t the weather that’s getting to me.  It’s the fact that I get home late and have dinner late.  Then I must wait an hour, then hit the road.  Why can’t I run first?  Well, I’m hungry when I get home, and after a run I can really only stomach yogurt.  Today’s run was too close to dinner.  It may have just been what I had for dinner.  It was loaded with red peppers and onions.  I could feel it trying to work its way up halfway through the run.  The Gatorade could only hold it back for so long.  Lesson learned again.

A friend of mine is a member of a running club, Rogue Racers.  I was scrolling through their Facebook page and noticed some posts he had made.  What caught my eye was the fact he runs 70 miles a week!  Impressive to say the least.  I am pushing 25 and I thought that was a lot.  I know I am an amateur, but that is a whole other league.  I have a ways to go to get there if that is even possible.  As my four year old says, “No Limitations, Daddy.”

My father just mailed me his copy of P90X.  I plan to find a way to incorporate it into my training once I finish the half marathon.  I don’t know how, but I will find a way.  If anyone has completed it, or even just tried it, any suggestions?

Next Run: 2 Miles
Next Race: Burlington Race for the Hungry 5K

Leave a Reply

