Multiple Injuries

Posted: October 13, 2011 by Roberts in Injuries, Running Log
Tags: , ,

Distance: 3.03 Miles
Pace: 10’54”

There really isn’t much to say. After a mile and half in, I pulled my hamstring taking a corner. My pace dropped an entire minute instantly. I started wondering if I could push through the pain, only to be surprised by a stomach cramp. I wanted to scream at my body, “what is wrong with you?” I pushed until the third mile and had to end the run. The ever increasing pain was on the verge of unbearable.

I had to take the Walk of Shame home, my head hung held low from a failed run. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. Just make sure the number of wins outweigh the losses.

Every run should be a learning experience, and the bad ones have the most to teach. This was my first hamstring pull, and now I need to learn how to “fix” this problem.

Next Run: 8 Miles
Next Race: TBD

Comments
  1. Chris Olsen says:

    Chris, I am so sorry to hear about your run. There is no shame taking care of your one and only body. Sometimes walking or running through an event works, but sometimes it does not. I am so proud of where you are and where you have come from. My hope is that you “fix” the issue and continue on down the path that you have began. Sometimes we just need to give our bodies time to adjust to the new demands that we are placing on them. This too will pass. Press forward listening to your body, it will tell you what is needs.

    • Roberts says:

      Thanks, I appreciate it. I have corrected the “issue” (not stretching enough) and learned from my mistake the hard way. I plan on adding a section under injuries about how to overcome the various injuries I cause myself.

Leave a Reply

