Pain…just pain

Posted: September 28, 2011 by Roberts in Injuries, Running Log
Tags: , ,

Distance: 6 Miles
Pace:  11’25”

Playlist:

This American Life Podcast – The Incredible Case of the P.I. Moms

Thoughts of the run:

The start of the run was good.  I was in the zone.  Once I hit mile three I tripped over a sewer grate.  I fell forward onto the pavement and picked up two patches of road rash, a busted knee and a pain riddle foot.  I forced myself up quickly to continue the run cursing my luck.  With each pounding on the pavement, pain shot up my right side.  Every drop of salty sweat stung my forearm and knee.  I needed to get to the point of the run where the adrenaline and endorphin mute all pain.  By the end I got near a normal pace.  I am proud I finished the run.

Thoughts during the run:

I can not remember my thoughts before the spill.  The pain for the last half of my run washed out all the other thoughts.  I just kept reminding myself I was one step closer to home.  If I walked it would take longer.  Running was my only option.  Lets see how Thursday goes.

Leave a Reply

